Steve Henderson the Baseball Player and Steve Henderson the Artist

29 Feb

I had no idea there was a Steve Henderson the baseball player until after we launched our art website years ago and I Googled the Norwegian Artist’s name, Steve Henderson. Naturally, since we had been online for, oh, say a week or two by that time, the baseball player came up first.

“Who is this man?” I thought. “Does he paint, too?”

Men, rocks, and rivers -- an intriguing combination. Where the River Bends, available as an original and limited edition print, by Steve Henderson, the artist.

As time went by and the Norwegian Artist participated in shows and joined societies and sold paintings and was represented by galleries and showed up in articles, the artist Steve Henderson, the real one from my perspective, began to clamber his way up the search engine pages, and I hadn’t given a thought to the baseball guy until we, the Norwegian and I, were walking by a river and the Norwegian picked up a rock and threw it across to the other side (do all men do this? what is it about rocks that impels the average man to pick them up and throw them?)

“I should have been a baseball player,” he said with a grin.

“Actually, you sort of are,” I replied.

Perhaps the other Steve Henderson, the baseball one, found himself on top of a ladder one day, swathing the living room wall with broad brushstrokes when he turned to his wife (is he married? I don’t know), and said,

“I should have been a painter.”

“You aren’t,” she would have replied. “There is only one Steve Henderson, the painter, the Norwegian Artist.”

6 Responses to “Steve Henderson the Baseball Player and Steve Henderson the Artist”

  1. Bobbi M. Baltzer-Jacobo March 1, 2012 at 1:38 am #

    I love that painting! My name is unusual, so I don’t have to share it…the total name…with anyone else in the world! However, I have often wondered how people with more common names feel when they are confused with being another well known person…with the same name. An example would be another: Bill Clinton, George Bush, Bobby Brown,John Kennedy, Richard McKinley, etc. Nice to hear about it from another person’s point of view! So much for some people not being able to use just ONE name…to become known for. Almost need to insert the Middle Name in there, too…!—Bobbi M. Baltzer-Jacobo

    • middleagedplague March 1, 2012 at 2:08 am #

      An unusual name indeed, Bobbi.

      I’m glad that you love Where the River Bends, the painting in the post, and I would love to do what I can to help you own it. In addition to its original form, Where the River Bends is available as a limited edition, signed print in various sizes and prices, beginning at $55 for a 10 x 8 on archival quality paper, shipping included.

      Please feel free to check out the link and contact me back through this site or through our Contact Form on the Steve Henderson Fine Art website.

      • Bobbi M. Baltzer-Jacobo March 1, 2012 at 3:18 am #

        Thank you, I’ll let you know about it later in the month!—Bobbi Marlene F. Baltzer-Jacobo

      • middleagedplague March 1, 2012 at 3:26 am #

        Sounds great. Feel free to ask any questions. That’s what I’m here for.

  2. britt December 9, 2012 at 4:06 am #

    I know Steve Henderson the baseball player…he’s my uncle and a phenomenal coach. And trust me, he is the real Steve Henderson!

    • middleagedplague December 10, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

      Hi, Britt: Your Steve Henderson is the phenomenal baseball player. My Steve Henderson is the phenomenal painter. They are both superb at what they do, and the world needs both! (P.S. — say hi to your Steve from me from mine)

Leave a Reply

